Tweeting just right

using Twitter

photo credit: shovelling son

Ah Twitter, still on the tip of everyone’s tongue and still being valiantly defended since John Mayer decided that it’s “pretty much done.” I still don’t know quite how I feel about Twitter – some days I re-tweet joyfully, peruse posts to see which reporter is writing about what and follow new people. Other days, I just can’t get motivated or find the time to tweet. But that’s okay, right?!?

If you’re like me, you were sort of coerced into joining Twitter because your mentors saw the benefit in tweeting and didn’t want you to (or wouldn’t let you) miss out. I equate it to being dragged to a party where you don’t know anyone – the awkward “plus one”. Since then, and trust me on this, I have given it a solid effort. I think I’m almost at 100 tweets on my account, and I never thought I’d get there. Yet, I’ve been told by many – and they know who they are – that I’m just not tweeting enough. Fine. But define “enough” for me. Because, seriously, I know a lot of people who are tweeting too much, tweeting all the wrong things, tweeting for all the wrong reasons and now, get this, tweeting “too hard!”

My point: I think Twitter can still be a useful and effective tool even if you only log on or tweet occasionally. I can still engage with interesting people and gain followers and update myself on what people are doing all in a few tweets a week. If I forced myself to spend more time tweeting, I think it would come across as inauthentic and wouldn’t really get me any closer to accomplishing my goals, because after a point, I’m just not passionate about it. It could also eat up my whole day in a flash, and it’s not like I’m looking for things to keep me busy!

Using Twitter

photo credit: respres

I know that it’s important as a communications professional to be in touch with social media (and I’m there if anyone needs me), but I’m also a really big people person, and I far prefer the phone. I like to go for coffee, and I’m also still a fan of a well-written email, which may well be a dinosaur activity soon too!

So there’s my musing for the day – you can make Twitter work for you no matter how many tweets you produce per week. If you’re inclined to “spring clean” your account and unfollow the tweeps who don’t post five brilliant thoughts per day, you may want to reconsider. After all, maybe those tweeps are like me, and maybe they’ll be inclined to DM you and go for lunch one day…just sayin’.

Signed:

WG’s traditional media girl at heart

Lynsey Brothers

~ by Wilcox Group Team on May 27, 2010.

2 Responses to “Tweeting just right”

  1. LOL 🙂

    Lynsey, this was a cute post. I used to be a power Tweeter. I think according to some measurement I had a FollowCost of like 3,000 milliScobles. E.g. I tweeted about 4 times more than Scobleizer himself on a good day.

    I have recently been unfollowing Twitter users who tweet too much (e.g. quasi-unfollowing myself!) – it’s just too much to process (I have photographic memory so I can remember what people tweeted last week!)

    One point I want to clarify – being on Twitter should never be about gaining followers, it should be about engaging in conversation. I follow about 1/7th of the people who follow me, not because I don’t want to, but because I don’t have enough brain space. The most important thing, I think, is to make of Twitter a good tool for engagement.

  2. Thanks for the comment Raul! I appreciate your mini translation of milliScobles and absolutely agree with your thoughts on engagement. I try to filter down the people I follow as people I would love to have a conversation with at some point. Maybe in the distant future we will be blessed with more brain space or maybe more hours in the day, but until then I think we’re all at capacity 🙂

    Lynsey

Leave a Reply

 
