A little effort goes a long way: Twitter and brand personality

Twitter

photo credit: tveskov

What’s the point of being on Twitter if you’re not going to genuinely engage with people and show a bit of sass and personality? After all, isn’t the purpose of social media to be social?

Too many brands online still aren’t doing it right. Twitter isn’t just another means to push your message but rather, Twitter is an opportunity to create a meaningful dialogue with your customers. If you haven’t figured that out by now, you’re likely wasting a big opportunity.

I stopped following a lot of the brands I care about a while ago because I got tired of hearing about product launches and CSR initiatives coming from a robot. Now I’d rather follow individuals, brands and organizations with a point of view or something of value to offer me. Sure a lot of brands will offer the odd freebie or personal quip, but those tweets are far and few between. When are they going to realize it’s not all about them anymore?

I’ve heard from other marketing communications / PR types that say they just don’t have the time to use Twitter any differently. Sure, it can be a challenge to genuinely engage with all of their followers – but don’t give me an auto-reply message when I decide to follow you. And if I @reply with a question, comment or concern, I’m expecting you to get back to me. If I retweet you, you’ll win points for saying thanks. It only takes a minute, but that minute could parlay into years of my loyalty.

There’s a person behind every brand’s Twitter handle, just like me. If I can take the time to care about who I’m engaging, so can they. A little bit of effort REALLY can go a long way!

Any comments about good or bad experiences you’ve had engaging with particular brands on Twitter would be great. I’d also love to hear about any brands you think are doing it right (or terribly wrong)…

Nick Seliwoniuk

~ by Wilcox Group Team on May 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
